Image by Natalya Zaritskaya

​Piece of Mind

​How To Purchase Life Insurance

 

Rating

AmBest, Standard & Poor's

Moody's , Fitch Rating'

COMDEX

Needs

Coverage,Budge

Health,Immigration Status

​Risk Tolerance,Goal

Products

Learn the Pros & Cons

of Different Products

Do Not Believe One Fit All Pitch

Service

Professionalism

Attitude

​Efficiency

Types of life insurance

 
Life Insurance,Term Insurance,定期保险,美国人寿保险

Term

定期寿险

Whole Life, Life Insurance。 终身保险,储蓄分红保险,美国人寿保险

Whole Life

​终身寿险

VUL, Variable Universal Life, Life Insurance. 投资型人寿保险,美国人寿保险

VUL

​投资型寿险

Guranteed Universal Life, GUL, Life Insurance. 保证型万能寿险,美国人寿保险

GUL
保证型万能寿险

IUL, Index Universal Life, Life Insurance。指数型万能寿险,美国人寿保险

IUL

​指数型万能寿险

Group Life Insurance. 团体人寿保险, 美国人寿保险

Group Life

​团体人寿保险

TERM 定期型寿险 

 

  • Term term life insurance is characterized by a period of time and a fixed premium. After expiration, the insurance will become invalid. The common ones are 10-year, 20-year, and 30-year periods. A few companies also provide 40-year guarantees. The longer the term, the more expensive the premium. In addition, the term insurance also provides a convertible option, that is, it can be converted into a permanent life insurance without a physical examination within the guarantee period. For example, an ordinary 20-year term insurance, if you die within 20 years, there will be a claim, and when it expires in 20 years, the insurance will lapse. If a conversion clause is added, it can be converted into permanent insurance such as Whole Life, GUL, IUL, VUL at any time within 20 years.

  • Pros:The premium is cheap, and you can buy the largest amount of insurance with the least premium.

  • Cons:No Cash Value, premium might increase significantly after expiration.

Age: 18
1M Coverage

Age: 35
1M Coverage

Age 50
1M Coverage

Whole Life 终身型寿险 

 

  • Whole life insurance is a type of permanent life insurance with fixed premium payment, guarantees interest, and guaranteed death benefit.  Traditional whole life insurance is designed to pays for lifetime. A lot of time, this is the part policyholders had misunderstanding. The expected shortened payment years are based on insurance company dividends, while dividends are not guaranteed. If the insurance agent fails to make reasonable expectations when designing the policy, the policyowners might be surprised to receive the premium bill after stop payment premium for many years. The new type of life insurance generally provides 10, 15 , 20 year guaranteed pay or paid off at 65 option. Due to the shortened number of years, the annual premium is much higher than the traditional life insurance, but the total premium is lower. Although dividends are not guaranteed, in the past history, top life insurance carriers have paid dividends every year to policy holders (pictured).

  • Pros:Lifetime Protection, Fixed Premium, Guaranteed Cash Value and death Benefit, dividend,tax deferred growth.

  • Cons:Premium payment not flexible,dividend not guaranteed,return might be not high。

GUL, Guaranted Universal Life. 保证型万能寿险,美国人寿保险

Guaranteed Universal Life 保证型万能寿险 

 

  • GUL is a type of Universal Life, which is characterized by flexibility and cost transparency, the amount of coverage can be customized, the premium can be paid more and less, and the number of years of coverage can also be customized. The interest is divided into a pure coverage part and a current interest rate part. After the number of years of payment is set, such as 20 years, the death benefit is guaranteed for a lifetime after 20 years of payment. Although universal life insurance has cash value, GUL is not designed to take money from the policy. There are also insurance companies that return the principal if the policy is cancelled within the first 10 or 20 years. The premium of GUL is cheaper than Whole Life, and it is a type of life insurance commonly used in estate planning.

  • Pros:Lifetime Protection, guaranteed premium payment, no worries about return, premium is cheaper than WL.

  • Cons:distribution is not desired, any withdrawal will impact the coverage. Rated class premium might be too high.

GUL, Guaranted Universal Life. 保证型万能寿险,美国人寿保险
GUL, Guaranted Universal Life. 保证型万能寿险,美国人寿保险

Index Universal Life 指数型万能寿险 

 

  • IUL is also a type of universal insurance. The first IUL came out in 1997. After more than 20 years of development, it has become the 2nd largest market share product except for whole life insurance. IUL is characterized by flexible and indirect participation in investment. The money in the cash value account can earn interest based on the stock market index selected by the insurance company (such as the S&P 500 or the Nasdaq Composite Index). The index fund does not have a fixed interest rate, but it usually comes with a guaranteed minimum interest rate and a capped interest rate, such as a 0% guarantee and a 10% cap. Generally speaking, for the same amount of insurance, the annual premium will be more likely cheaper than Whole Life. However, the IUL needs to be designed properly based on the insured’s situation, and the insured also needs to understand the corresponding risks and Expenses, so as to maximize the use of IUL’s living benefit features..

  • Pros:flexible premium, indirect participate in stock market with higher return, cost is transparent.

  • Cons:Low guaranteed interest rate than whole life, cap can be lower, high risk of lapse for poorly designed policy.

VUL, Variable Universal Life. 投资型万能寿险,美国人寿保险

Variable Universal Life 投资型万能寿险 

 

  • VUL is also a type of permanent life insurance policy, which allows policyowners to investment in the market to generate greater returns. Like standard universal life insurance, premiums are also very flexible with maximum funding and minimum funding limit. VUL Insurance's investment sub-account generally invests in mutual funds. With market fluctuations, it may generate considerable returns, but may also lead to huge losses. Although VUL insurance offers greater flexibility and growth potential not seen in traditional cash value or whole life insurance policies, Policyholders should carefully assess the risks before purchasing insurance. Since VUL sub-accounts are securities, the agent must be registered with the FINRA Securities Regulatory Authority to provide such life insurance products.

  • Pros:Flexible premium, No Cap, tax deferred return, investment choice, suitable fore high risk tolerance insured

  • Cons:high risk, no guaranteed return, complicated costs, high risk of lapse for poorly designed policies.

Group Life 团体寿险 

 

  • Group life insurance is provided by employers or other large entities (such as associations or labor organizations) for their workers or members. It is quite cheap, even free, and is very common across the country. It has relatively low insurance coverage and is usually provided as part of a larger employer or member benefit plan. Some organizations require team members to work for at least a period of time before they can get insurance. For example, an employee may need to go through a probation period before being allowed to participate in the employee's life insurance benefits. Coverage is usually only valid when the member is employed. Once the member leaves, whether it is resignation or fired, the coverage is terminated, but it can be converted to personal life insurance.

  • Pros:No Medical exam, the employer typically share part of the premium

  • Cons:limited coverage choice, group term will expire once you left the job if you didn't convert it to individual life.

© AIMDAR
 
 
 
 
 
 

Individual Life Ins MarketShare (2020 Q4)

 
Life Insurance Marketshare。美国人寿保险市场份额

Family at the Park

​有保障,才安心

​如何选购寿险

 

​寿险公司评级

AmBest, Standard & Poor's

Moody's , Fitch Rating'

COMDEX

个人家庭情况

保额,预算

身体健康,移民身份

​风险承受能力,中长期目标等

产品类型

各类人寿保险有其优缺点

保险顾问要量体裁衣

片面推销某类产品买错概率高

​售后服务

客服专业度

客服态度

​客服效率

人寿保险的种类

 
108_Chinese_FamilyMoving_2018.jpg

Term

定期寿险

Family Kayaking

Whole Life

​终身寿险

118_Chinese_FamilyInTraditionalGarmentEa

VUL

​投资型寿险

120_Chinese_MotherDaughterHomework_2018.

GUL

保证型万能寿险

109_Chinese_Graduation_2018.jpg

IUL

​指数型万能寿险

Nail Store 2.png

Group Life

​团体人寿保险

TERM 定期型寿险 

 

  • Term 定期型寿险的特点是保一段时间,固定保费,到期后,保险失效。常见的有10年期,20年期,30年期的时长,少数公司也提供40年的保障。期限越长保费越贵。另外定期保险也提供可转换选项,即在保障期限内可以免体检转换成永久型的人寿保险。比方一个普通的20年期的定期保险,20年之内身故,就有理赔,20年到期,保险即失效。如果添加了转换条款,那么20年之内任何时候可以转换成Whole Life,GUL, IUL,VUL等永久型保险。

  • 优点:保费便宜,可以用最少的保费买最大的保额。

  • 缺点:没有现金价值,没有储蓄理财功能。到期后续保保费大幅增加。

18岁

100万保额

35岁

100万保额

50岁

100万保额

Whole Life 终身型寿险 

 

  • Whole Life 也叫储蓄分红型寿险。终身型寿险的特点是固定,保险保一辈子,保费支付年数固定,保险公司给付固定利息,一般毛利率4%左右,即保单有保证的现金价值。终身保险一般有几种保费付款年数,传统型的终身保险是付终身,稍微提一下,这是很多有传统旧的终身保单持有者出现纠纷的地方,预期缩短的支付年数是根据保险公司红利计算的,而红利不保证,如果设计时保险代理没做好合理的预期,就会出现停付多年后还收到保费账单的情况。新型的终身保险一般提供10,12,15年期,65岁付清的选择,保费由于年数缩短,年保费相比传统型的终身保险要高很多,但总保费反而低一些。虽然红利没保证,但是过去历史,优秀的储蓄分红型寿公司每年保险公司都有分红(如图)。

  • 优点:终身保障,保费、利息、支付年数固定,清楚安心,有分红有现金价值,利息所得免税增值

  • 缺点:保费固定不灵活,红利不保证,收益率相对大盘历史年化收益率低。

Index Universal Life 指数型万能寿险 

 

  • IUL也是万能险的一种,1997年第一款IUL问世,经过20几年的发展,已经成为了除终身型寿险外最大市场份额的人寿保险。IUL的特点是灵活和间接参与投资。现金价值帐户中的钱可以根据保险公司选择的股市指数(例如S&P 500或纳斯达克综合指数)赚取利息。基金没有固定的利率,但通常附带担保最低利率和封顶利率,比如0%保底,10%封顶。一般来说,同等保额,年保费相比Whole Life 20年期付清款会便宜30%左右,但是IUL代理人需要根据投保人的情况设计好的方案,投保人也需要了解相应的风险和费用,这样才能最大化的利用好IUL的理财功能。

  • 优点:保费灵活,间接参与指数投资并有保底收益,利率增长空间较Whole Life大,保费相对WL低,并且透明。

  • 缺点:保证利率相对终身保险低,收益有封顶并可能降级,身体级别不好大幅影响收益并增大断保风险,费用繁多。

Variable Universal Life 投资型万能寿险 

 

  • VUL 投资型万能寿险,也是一类永久性的寿险保单,它允许将现金部分投资以产生更大的回报。与标准的万能寿险一样,保费也很灵活,同样VUL保险单通常具有与储蓄投资部分相关的最高存款限额和最低限额。VUL保险的投资子帐户一般投资于共同基金,跟着市场波动,上不封顶可能会产生可观的回报,但下不保底也可能导致巨大的损失。尽管VUL保险在传统现金价值或整个人寿保险保单上提供了更大的灵活性和增长潜力,但保单持有人在购买保险前应仔细评估风险。由于VUL子帐户属于证券,代理人必须在FINRA证券监管局注册认证才可以提供此类寿险产品。

  • 优点:保费灵活并相对IUL低,投资回报无封顶,投资收益免税,可选择多个投资基金,适合年轻抗风险能力强投保人

  • 缺点:短期风险相对较大,投资无保底收益,费用透明但同样繁多,设计不好断保风险大

Group Life 团体寿险 

 

  • 团体人寿保险是由雇主或其他大型实体(例如协会或劳工组织)为其工人或成员提供的。它相当便宜,甚至是免费的,并且在全国范围内很普遍。它的保险金额相对较低,通常作为较大的雇主或会员福利计划的一部分提供。一些组织要求小组成员在获得保险之前最少工作一段时间,然后才能获得保险。例如,员工可能需要经过试用期才能被允许参加员工的人寿保险福利。覆盖范围通常仅在成员在职的情况下才有效。一旦成员离开,无论是辞职还是解雇,承保范围结束,不过可以转换成个人寿险。

  • 优点:无需体检,通常保费雇主会承担一部分

  • 缺点:保额有限制,离职后即断保

© AIMDAR

Guaranteed Universal Life 保证型万能寿险 

 

  • GUL是Universal Life里的一类。万能寿险从80年代至今产生了好几类产品。万能险的特点是灵活和费用透明,保额可以定制,保费可以多放少放,保障年数也可以定制,利息它分为纯保障部分和当前利率部分。其中GUL保证型万能寿险的特点是定好支付年数后,比如20年,20年缴清后保险保证一辈子有效。虽然万能型寿险里面也有现金价值,但是这里保证型寿险一般是不会从保单里面取钱的,也有保险公司有前10年、20年取消可拿回本金的条款。所以GUL相比Whole Life的保费会便宜,并在遗产规划是常用的一类人寿保险。

  • 优点:终身保障,保费金额和支付年数明确,不用担心回报率风险,保费相对终身保险便宜。

  • 缺点:不适合拿钱,一但拿钱保证条款失效,体检报告差降级保费大幅增加杠杆下降甚至投资vs回报不合理。

 
 
 
 
 
 

人寿保险产品的市场份额表(2020 Q4)

 
LIMRA 4th Quarter.png